Whatever your sexuality or gender identity you can get friendly, confidential and accurate advice and support when visiting us. Our staff are here to help, not to make judgements about you.

Contraception

All methods of contraception are available at the University of Lincoln Health Service and are provided free of charge by the NHS.  Please book an appointment with the Practice Nurse on 01522 870 010.

Choosing  the best method for you

To help you decide which method would suit you best and to compare different methods please use the Contraception Choices website: https://www.contraceptionchoices.org/

Family Planning Association information leaflets about each method are available at the end of this page.

Emergency Contraception

Emergency Contraception can be used up to 5 days after unprotected sex. However, the earlier you use it the better chance there is that it will be effective so you should seek advice as quickly as possible.   

There are two types of emergency contraceptive pill which are available from the surgery or the Lincolnshire Sexual Health Service but they are also available without a prescription from a pharmacy (although you may have to pay for this).

Please contact us on 01522 870 010 and ask to speak to the Duty Doctor or Practice Nurse for further information regarding emergency contraception. If we are closed please call the Out of Hours service on 111.

You should also consider having tests for sexually transmitted infections (STI’s), please scroll down for further information regarding STI’s.

Implants and Coils

If you are interested in an implant (Nexplanon) or a coil which could be called an IUCD (non-hormonal copper coil) or an IUS (Mirena or Kyleena which contains the hormone progesterone) please let reception know at the time of booking your appointment as you may need an appointment to discuss this first.

Contraceptive Pill, Patch, Ring & Injection

Please book an appointment with the Practice Nurse for any of the above on 01522 870 010.

Pregnancy

If you were planning a baby and are happy with your news, you can now self-refer to the Lincolnshire Midwifery Service by clicking here.

If you are unsure about your news, please book an appointment with your GP to discuss your options as soon as possible. Finding out that you are pregnant when it wasn't planned can come as a big shock.  Everyone's circumstances, feelings and reactions are different.

Useful websites

Brook is a charity offering free and confidential sexual health services and advice to under 25s. The Brook website offers further information on unplanned pregnancy.

Sexually Transmitted Infections (STIs)

STIs are very common and you may not have any symptoms. It is a good idea to use condoms to protect yourself from infections and have a screening at the start of a new relationship.

If you feel that you may have an STI or would like to arrange a routine screening, please contact the Lincolnshire Sexual Health Service on 01522 309 309 or by visiting their website: https://lincolnshiresexualhealth.nhs.uk/.

The Sexual Health Service is located within walking distance of the campus at Lindon House, 134 Dixon Street, Lincoln, LN6 7TU. The Service holds a clinic at the University of Lincoln Health Service every Wednesday afternoon during term-time. This is not a drop-in clinic and appointments must be arranged through the Sexual Health Service.

Vaccinations

Vaccinations are available for Human Papilloma Virus (HPV), Hepatitis A and Hepatitis B.  Please discuss with the Practice Nurse about your eligibility for free vaccinations.

Cervical Screening (Smear Test)

A cervical smear is a test to check the health of the cervix.  The cervix is the lower part of the neck of the womb.  For most women the test shows that the cells of the cervix are normal and healthy.  For a few women it shows changes in the cells, which if left untreated might develop into cancer, and for others it might show signs of infection.

As with other medical tests, cervical screening is not 100 per cent perfect.  If you have unusual symptoms between smear tests, such as bleeding after sex, you should consult your doctor. 

Remember most smears are normal.

All women aged 25 to 64 are now offered a cervical smear test by the NHS. The test is for all women, although cervical cancer is much less common in women who have never had sex.

You will automatically receive a letter to attend from the age of 25, and then every 3 years.  When you get a letter please call University of Lincoln health service on 01522 870010 to arrange an appointment or discuss.  If you are unsure please arrange an appointment with a practice nurse to discuss further.

A smear is best taken in the middle of your menstrual cycle.

Information about the screening service and what to expect at your smear appointment can be found here:  https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/cervical-screening/

Information about HPV and cervical cancer can be found here: https://www.jostrust.org.uk/

Gender

Please make an appointment with a GP if you wish to discuss any gender-related issues.


Family Planning Association Information

The following information leaflets were produced by the Family Planning Association and also contain reliable information which you may find helpful:

Guide to understanding reproduction https://www.fpa.org.uk/sites/default/files/bodyworks-your-guide-to-understanding-reproduction.pdf

Contraception

Your Guide to Contraception https://www.fpa.org.uk/sites/default/files/your-guide-to-contraception.pdf

The Combined Pill https://www.fpa.org.uk/sites/default/files/the-combined-pill-your-guide.pdf

The Progestogen Only Pill https://www.fpa.org.uk/sites/default/files/progestogen-only-pill-your-guide.pdf

The Contraceptive Patch https://www.fpa.org.uk/sites/default/files/contraceptive-patch-your-guide-2019_0.pdf

The Contraceptive Vaginal Ring https://www.fpa.org.uk/sites/default/files/contraceptive-vaginal-ring-your-guide-2019.pdf

Long acting reversible contraception https://www.fpa.org.uk/sites/default/files/long-acting-reversible-contraception-your-guide.pdf

Contraceptive Injections https://www.fpa.org.uk/sites/default/files/contraceptive-injections-your-guide.pdf

The Contraceptive Implant https://www.fpa.org.uk/sites/default/files/contraceptive-implant-your-guide.pdf

Intrauterine Device IUD https://www.fpa.org.uk/sites/default/files/intrauterine-device-iud-your-guide.pdf

IUS https://www.fpa.org.uk/sites/default/files/ius-your-guide.pdf

Diaphragms and Caps https://www.fpa.org.uk/sites/default/files/diaphragms-and-caps-your-guide.pdf

Your Guide to Condoms https://www.fpa.org.uk/sites/default/files/male-and-female-condoms-your-guide.pdf

Natural Family Planning https://www.fpa.org.uk/sites/default/files/natural-family-planning-your-guide.pdf

Male and female Sterilisation https://www.fpa.org.uk/sites/default/files/male-and-female-sterilisation-your-guide.pdf

Emergency Contraception https://www.fpa.org.uk/sites/default/files/emergency-contraception-your-guide.pdf

Contraception after having a baby https://www.fpa.org.uk/sites/default/files/contraception-after-having-baby-your-guide.pdf

Advice for women seeking contraception, abortion and other sexual and reproductive healthcare during the COVID-19 pandemic 

https://www.fsrh.org/documents/advice-for-women-seeking-contraception-abortion-and-other/


 

Sexually Transmitted Infections (STI’s)

Chlamydia https://www.fpa.org.uk/sites/default/files/chlamydia-information-and-advice.pdf

Genital Herpes https://www.fpa.org.uk/sites/default/files/genital-herpes-information-and-advice.pdf

Genital warts https://www.fpa.org.uk/sites/default/files/genital-warts-information-and-advice.pdf

Gonorrhoea https://www.fpa.org.uk/sites/default/files/gonorrhoea-information-and-advice.pdf

Non-Gonococcal Urethritis https://www.fpa.org.uk/sites/default/files/non-gonococcal-urethritis-information-and-advice.pdf

Pubic Lice & Scabies https://www.fpa.org.uk/sites/default/files/pubic-lice-scabies-information-and-advice.pdf

Syphilis https://www.fpa.org.uk/sites/default/files/syphilis-information-and-advice.pdf

Trichomonas https://www.fpa.org.uk/sites/default/files/trichomonas-vaginalis-information-and-advice.pdf

Thrush & BV https://www.fpa.org.uk/sites/default/files/thrush-bacterial-vaginosis-information-and-advice.pdf

Oral Sex https://www.fpa.org.uk/sites/default/files/oral-sex-and-sexually-transmitted-infections.pdf

Free postal chlamydia screening is available to under 25's https://www.freetest.me/

Call 111 when you need medical help fast but it’s not a 999 emergencyNHS ChoicesThis site is brought to you by My Surgery Website